Helping people who help themselves

Hello everyone:

Well, as the heading says I help people who help themselves sick and tired of having excuses all the time from Colin, for the sake of his own health I am trying to help him quit smoking which he promised me he would try before he even came out to get me from Winnipeg or make an attempt to or at the very least, cut down to ten cigarettes per day but thus far nothing has worked and getting sick and tired of banging my head against a wall.

I am now starting to get a headache, enough is enough and after tonight having gone to walmart to pick up some nicorette lozenges for him spending an hour with a sales associate looking for it only to get in the car and having Colin telling me he can’t take it he said because of the medication that he is taking I then told Colin to call Alberta health links where he can speak to a nurse who is able to give him the correct information, well he never did so what that is basically telling me is that he can’t be bothered so all I can say is I’m done with helping him on this issue plain and simple as far as his smoking is concerned he is now on his own period done helping.

All I have ever done in my life is help others now it is time for me to look after me as the saying goes “help people who help themselves” there was someone else who is still a friend of mine who still lives in Manitoba Housing I have tried to lead him in the right direction as far as his alcohol problem on several occasions needless to say whatever I suggested was completely ignored it seemed as though his alcohol was much more important that his food he next to never had any food in the house and was always asking others to feed him I don’t know how many times I said “no” I was not going to enable him anymore  what made things much worse  the last month I was in Manitoba Housing was after banging my head yet again, against a brick wall I kept on telling him to not continuously knock on my door for money which happened at least twice per week for the last six months with a warning that if he asked me again it would be the last time I talk to him.

Well, he asked me again and I completely losted my last nerve and gave it to him with both barrels needless to say he never asked me ever again and our friendship has never really been the same since and now having moved to Calgary I have only called him twice I feel that the friendship is slowly disappearing now so sad  all I can do is just pray for him now.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. queenlioness1962
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 12:49:47

    It is nice to know, as you said Maynard to find someone with comparable experiences so glad I’m not the only one.

  2. Maynard Streif
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 09:56:19

    I’m also in exactly the same scenario and it was a relief to locate somebody with comparable experiences.

  3. queenlioness1962
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:25:24

    Thank you so much link sharing for your comments, I always try to help others by telling my life experiences and sharing valuable information that I have learned over time.

  4. link sharing
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 05:16:35

    I just like the valuable information you provide on your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and test again right here frequently. I’m moderately certain I will be told a lot of new stuff right right here! Good luck for the following!

Comments are welcome, but please no spam those comments will automatically be removed

