Working through depression

When we live through traumatic experiences sometimes we have a tendency to become depressed, depression can take Its toll on a person It could be short-term or like for me It has become long-term and have suffered for many years with It and until I came to Alpha House had no Idea what to do about It, we were given a handout on ways to work through depression which I would like to share here with you and perhaps yourself might one day want to use for reference purposes:

  • Write your thoughts and feelings In a journal….I had previously done this In the past writing It down on paper but It would seem that I could not write fast enough and forgot half of what I was going to write In the process so now as you can see I have an online journal Instead, this works better for me because I am able to type as fast as I think of my thoughts and seems to help me heal from my past experiences faster.
  • Try and be aware of your negative thoughts and replace with positive ones….although I do admit this Is a very hard one to do It takes perseverance and determination with the staff at Alpha House helping me and after months of reading my same affirmations I am becoming a more positive person and although I still get depressed sometimes I find that the affirmations really do help me.
  • Make a weekly list of your positive accomplishments and focus on your positive experiences and successes…..If your like me you may really have to rattle your brain for this one It took me a while to figure this one out.
  • Build a support network of healthy people, and talk to them when you are feeling down….trust me on this one your support network and best friends will be your saving grace I have no Idea where I would have been without all of them today more than likely In the nearest psych ward.
  • Have something to look forward to for example activities, barbeques, a night out for dinner and perhaps a movie afterward or just a night chilling with your friends.
  • How about doing a good deed for someone, who knows you might make their day and put a smile on their face.
  • Self care…. go ahead do something nice for yourself anything that makes you happy however I would not suggest drugs and/or alcohol as they are mood altering.
  • Try volunteer work,  have a cause why not promote It.
  • Do you have any goals If so list them It does not matter If they are family, recreation, personal growth or whatever.
  • Eat healthy and get plenty of rest I have found with my own experiences If you don’t eat properly and lack of sleep or lack of rest you will get sick run down and become even more depressed than you were to begin with.
  • Be assertive to maintain your boundaries use “I feel” statements this one was a struggle for me so It took me a while since most of my life I have been a people pleaser but now I finally have my boundaries In place.
7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. queenlioness1962
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 16:59:40

    Thank you Tara.

  2. Tara Eyler
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 17:58:27

    You are so gifted! Count your self fortunate

  3. queenlioness1962
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 22:02:24

    Thank you Nature Photo Lab for the compliment glad you liked the post, I hope that this article will help others that suffer from depression

  4. naturephotorehab
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 08:21:08

    This is great advice about a very difficult problem. Thank you for posting it.
    And thank you for following.

  5. lista de email
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:03:23

    I like this it’s a great job, keep it up.

  6. lista de email
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 09:14:06

    Very nice blog thanks for the good post. keep posting.

  7. lista de emails
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 17:42:19

    Agree with your thought. Thank you for your sharing.

Comments are welcome, but please no spam those comments will automatically be removed

