How to recognize self-sabotage are you doing it?

Sabotage is:

Conscious or unconscious damage done to self by self.

Self-defeating behaviors.

Hampering ones own progress or recovery.

Refusing to grow and change.

I am glad that when I was in Alpha House I was given this article it made me think.

  • “Yes, but” using one excuse after another about why others suggestions won’t work for you.
  • “I’m different” seeing yourself as different, worse, or more complicated than others and because of that, strategies that work for others just wont work for you.
  • “Making the rounds” going from one person, helper or treatment to another, discounting what each says, looking for the answer you want to hear.
  • “Stacking the evidence” Only looking for evidence of how a treatment or suggestion may not work, while ignoring any evidence of how it does help.
  • “Negative comparisons” Comparing yourself to others in a negative way.
  • “No way” Refusing to consider new evidence, try new ideas or take any risks.

So ask yourself these questions

  • In which ways do I sabotage?
  • Why do I sabotage?
  • If you sabotage  then how will I go about making the following changes?
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 12:19:37

    Thanks for all of your work on this web site. Enjoy the remaining portion of the year. You’re doing a superb job.

  2. queenlioness1962
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 18:48:44

    I am very glad that my post has helped you in increasing your knowledge of self-sabotage.The reason I write the posts that I do is simply to help others that may be or have been in the same situation as I have.You are welcome

  3. lista de emails
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 09:54:35

    This will help me in increasing my knowledge. Thanks a lot.

  4. queenlioness1962
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 23:31:04

    I sure hope so return man, I think that it is important to reach out to others that may have been or are in that same situation as I was.

  5. return man 2
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 13:50:50

    I know my viewers would enjoy your work.

Comments are welcome, but please no spam those comments will automatically be removed

